Log in here with your username and password



A great many people have contributed to the development of Understanding Christianity. We're immensely grateful for their generous support and advice

Editor and Project Leader for RE Today Services

Stephen Pett

Writing team Teacher’s Handbook

Stephen Pett

Units and Resources

Lat Blaylock Kate Christopher
Julia Diamond Conway Fiona Moss
Stephen Pett

EYFS units

Helen Matter, Diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich

Editorial Advisory Group

Jane Chipperton, Diocese of St Albans
Professor Trevor Cooling, Canterbury Christchurch University
Hazel Henson, All Saints’ CE (VC) Junior School, Matlock
Olivia Seymour, Diocese of York
Zoë Keens, CEO, Christian Education
Kate Penfold-Attride, Boutcher CE Primary School, Bermondsey
Stephen Pett, RE Today Services

Project Director

Jeremy Taylor MBE (October 2014-December 2015)
Derek Holloway (January 2016-)

Trial 1 Diocesan Advisers

Jane Chipperton, Diocese of St Albans
Lisa Horobin, Diocese of Blackburn
Gillian Georgiou, Diocese of Lincoln
Derek Holloway, Diocese of Salisbury
Helen Matter, Diocese of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich

Trial 1 Schools

Alban CE Academy, Bedfordshire
Bishop King CE Primary School, Lincoln
Emmanuel CE (VA) Middle School, Dorset
Frodsham Manor House Primary School, Cheshire
Gilbert Colvin Primary School, Ilford, Essex
Hope Academy, Ecumenical CE/RC, Merseyside
Hyde Park Infant School, Plymouth
Morland CE (VA) Primary School, Ipswich
Nettleham CE (VA) Junior School, Lincoln
Norton CE (VC) Primary School, Bury St Edmunds
Oldbury Park Primary School, Worcester
Parkhill Junior School, Essex
Redbridge Primary Community School, Ilford, Essex
Sherborne Abbey CE (VC) Primary School, Dorset
Sir Thomas Rich’s Grammar School, Gloucester
Southend High School for Boys, Essex
St James’ CE (VA) Primary School, Haslingden, Lancashire
St Michael’s CE (VA) High School, Chorley, Lancashire
Sutton CE (VA) Lower School, Bedfordshire
Thurlow CE (VC) Primary School, Suffolk
Whatfield CE (VC) Primary School, Ipswich

Trial 2 Diocesan advisers

Fiona Beevers, Diocese of West Yorkshire and the Dales
Rosemary Black, Diocese of Chichester
Jane Brooke, Diocese of Chester
Natalie Chapman, Diocese of Durham/Newcastle
Ruth Everett, Diocese of Chelmsford
Maureen Hogarth, Diocese of Manchester
Niki Paterson, Diocese of Canterbury
Allyson Taylor, Diocese of Hereford
Tatiana Wilson, Diocese of Exeter
Rosemary Woodward, Diocese of Lichfield
Kathryn Wright, Diocese of Norwich
Lesley Pollard, Diocese of Peterborough

Trial 2 Schools

Abbey Grange CE Academy, Leeds
All Saints’ CE (VA) First School, Leek
All Saints’ CE (VA) Primary School, Peterborough
All Saints’ CE (VC) Primary School, Fordham
All Souls’ CE (VA) Primary School, Folkestone
Alpington and Bergh Apton CE (VA) Primary School
Archbishop Sancroft CE (VA) High School, Harleston
Bishops’ Blue Coat CE (VA) High School, Chester
Branfil Primary School, Upminster
Burnsall CE (VA)/Cracoe & Rylstone CE (VC) Primary Schools
Canon Burrows CE (VA) Primary School, Ashton-under-Lyne
Clover Hill CE (VA) Infant and Nursery School, Norwich
Eccleston CE (VA) Primary School, Chester
Fittleworth CE (VC) Primary School, West Sussex
Ian Ramsey CE Academy, Stockton-on-Tees
Ilfracombe CE Academy, Devon
Kings Norton Girls’ School, Birmingham
Longhorsley St Helen’s CE (VA) First School, Morpeth
Milton Hall Primary School, Southend
Netherfield CE (VC) Primary School, East Sussex
Overthorpe CE Primary Academy, Dewsbury
Rolph CE (VA) Primary School (Academy), Thorpe-le-Soken
St Andrew’s CE Primary Academy, Kettering
St George’s CE (VA) Primary School, Hyde
St George’s Secondary School, Broadstairs
St Leonard’s CE (VC) Primary School, Exeter
St Luke’s CE (VC) Primary School, Heywood, Rochdale
St Mary Magdalene CE (VC) Primary School, West Bromwich
St Mary’s CE (VC) Primary School, Credenhill
St Nicholas and St Mary CE Primary School, West Sussex
The Bishop of Hereford’s Bluecoat School (VA, Secondary), Hereford
Windsor Park CE (VC) Middle School, Uttoxeter
Wolborough CE (VA) Primary School, Newton Abbot
Yardley Gobion CE (VC) Primary School, Towcester

Additional advice from:

Dr Julia Ipgrave, University of Warwick
Miranda Robinson, Diocese of Peterborough
Angela Smith, Bishop Luffa School and Diocese of Chichester
Nicola Sylvester, National Society

Theological consultation

Professor David Ford

Members of the Church of England Faith and Order Commission:

The Revd Canon Professor Loveday Alexander
The Revd Canon Dr Charlotte Methuen
The Revd Dr Jeremy Morris
The Revd Canon Dr Jeremy Worthen (Secretary of the Commission)

Initial research and development

Hazel Henson, All Saints’ CE (VC) Junior School, Matlock

Early contributions

We are grateful to the following for their early contributions:

Penny Hollander
Hugo Whateley
Cavan Wood


We are grateful to the following for generous support in the development, trial and publication of Understanding Christianity:

Culham St Gabriel’s Trust
Jerusalem Trust
Halley Stewart Trust
Anonymous donor


Emma Yarlett

Emma is an author and illustrator who lives and works in Falmouth, Cornwall with her husband Alex.

She has authored and illustrated many award-winning picture books, most notable of which are Orion and the Dark, Poppy Pickle and Nibbles the Book Monster. She also illustrated RE Today’s best-selling The Bible: The Big Story.


Print design and production


Website design and development